Thread: Dodge Mechanic

Senior Member Expert

Dodge Mechanic

I have a 1996 Dodge Ram 1500 that had the check engine light on. Went to the dealer and have 4 DTC's as listed below:

P0300- Multi Cyl Misfire
    P0301- Cyl #1 Misfire 82 SSS
    P0302- Cyl #2 Misfire 110 SSS
    P0303- Cyl #3 Misfire 82 SSS

Now, I'm no mechanic but it seems these are related. I was wondering if anyone has any advice, suggestions, connections, etc. I was thinking maybe its a head gasket causing low compression so it doesn't fire? They also say the motor is burning oil. Plugs, wires, cap, and rotor have all been replaced this year. Please let me know if anyone can help. Huge thanks in advance!
    Casey D

Resident T-Bagger Expert T Baggins's Avatar
    I have a simple explanation for this: It' a Dodge.

Next time, buy a Ford.

Also, FWIW, you can go to checker and they'll plug in and pull the codes for you no-charge.

Not sure if we have any Dodge mech's in the hizzle...
    Tony Baker #21

Sponsored by:
    Vickery Motorsports, Short Bus Race Team, 406 Racing Michelin, Vortex, PitBull, Driven, Third Bridge Wines, Imodium A-D

Senior Member Amateur
    Pffft... you got it backwards, T Bag... Dodge > Ford.

Casey, give my brother Cory a call... tell him I sent you. (1-877-879-3437)
    Chris

"Adrenaline has blocked my fiscal sensibility."

Quote Originally Posted by turbohoje
    i gather you will be attending the Shellinger Institute of Conquest this summer.

Senior Member Expert
    Thanks Chris, I'll hit him up later this week!
    Casey D

Senior Member Expert
    its not a head gasket because cylinders 1,2,3 are not all on the same side, 1,3 are on one side, and cylinder 2 is on the other.

Rule out the head gasket.

You might check for and intake manifold gasket leak.

But more than likely it's the ignition coil. throw a new one on it, they are cheap, you could even try one from a junk yard for like $20, just for diagnosis sake.