Thread: Noob here....

Senior Member Amateur

Noob here....

So decided to take the dive next year, get my ass off the street for good and be at the track as much as I can (thanks Siob!)... So with that said my question is this and it may seem like an obvious one to most here but my newb behind wants guidance lol... Would it be more beneficial to pay for the race school and obtain the license or just race 2 superstreets and go like that. I am looking at cost of benefit given I am in a tight tight budget but also want to do things right. Does anyone know what the cost for race school will be? Thanks!
    "We all take risks every day. Us who ride, know that. We calculate our risk with our reward and then strap on our gear and throw a leg over our trusty steeds. We know that it can end at any time. But we don't let that stop us from living our lives and doing that which we love."

Damir G

Thumbs Up! Amateur
    I am also going to be a rookie next year, and the one thing that I've learned going from trackday to raceday is that the best money you can spend to make you a better/faster rider is on schools/instruction. Definitely do the rider school, and maybe a Superstreet race or two just to get your feet wet in a race scenario. I believe the race school is $200 and it is a few hours of classroom and a ENTIRE day of instruction and track time. The school is worth more then Superstreet ($100) which is only an hour of instruction on racing procedures, not racing specifics and maybe a 30 min session of practice, two launch drills, and a 10 lap race. Basically with the school, for an extra $100 you get 5 times more instruction and 8 times more track time!

If your budget is tight, then concentrate on spending your money on track time instead of parts. Make sure you get your forks and shock serviced, change out your brake fluid and check your pads, and buy take off tires before you buy performance parts!

just my .02