Thread: New superstreet rider

Junior Member Novice

New superstreet rider

I'm just getting into racing and completed my first superstreet race this past weekend at PPIR. I'm thinking about getting more serious about racing but I need a ton of stuff. I ride an '03 R6. Three immediate items on my list are:

stands
    tire warmers
    a steering dampener

I'm also looking for sponsors, free stuff, discounted stuff, used but still working stuff, professional advice, suggestions, and opinions.....

Senior Member Expert
    In the advice and suggestions column:

Welcome to the club and the sport. I've done a lot of cool things in my life and none of them have provided the challenge or the reward that motorcycle roadracing does.

1) On riding and racing: Once you get the bike in compliance with the safety regulations, don't worry too much about modifying the motorcycle or getting a faster bike right away. The bike you have is a fully capable machine. Work on honing your talents and a rider and racer before worrying about making your motorcycle faster. Not only is it a bit cheaper, it also provides benefit on every motorcycle you ride, where a superbike motor (or any other bike mod) is only good in the bike you put it in.

2) Work first on being a really really good rider - fast will come. I've seen a lot of riders try to be really fast before they were ready. Most of them end up falling down. Falling down is way more expensive than being slow for a little while.

3) Sponsorship is a really cool thing, but remember that it's not a one way street. Sponsors are investing something in you in order to promote their product / business. It's difficult to get sponsorship as a new rider. You're unproven and don't have a history for a sponsor to work from. Start small, ask them what they need help doing and try to help them meet that need. Build a relationship and then they will know that they can help you more and that they get something in return for their efforts.