PDA

View Full Version : Quite an odd thread....

NossLou
September 1st, 2010, 01:16 AM
Well I'm sure this may be unimportant to many but here it goes….

I am in my final year as a Mechanical Engineer and am working with a team of engineers who are in the process building the first “snow tracked Triumph” to be designed and fully tested as a senior design project. Many may ask wtf are you thinking and why would you want to do that. Considering that our Formula SAE team was shut down due to school politics and funding we wanted to build something with a mechanical purpose that relates to personal interest of the group. There are teams designing theoretical cylindrical wind turbines, robotic arms, and other projects that just did not seem as appealing. We were going to develop a long travel track setup for a MX bike but figured there are multiple kits available already and would not be as unique. 2 moto already has a badass setup that is tried and true.

Team background- Every member is either an avid street or track/MX rider and are all in their final year of their ME degree. Our group is committed to a goal and will develop and design an attachable unit through solid modeling/Finite Element Analysis/ and CNC production.

Project background - Over the summer one of the team members suffered from a hit and run on his commuting bike and insurance has totaled out the bike. He has bought it back and is donating the frame and motor towards the project.

Bike 2001 Triumph Speed Triple 955
- Straight frame
- Strong motor
- Minimal damage