PDA

View Full Version : Anybody ever listen to music?

vort3xr6
August 10th, 2010, 03:30 PM
While racing? I have always found listening to a good playlist while riding has made me more focused and kept my adrenaline going great.

Similar to listening to music while working out.

Just thought I would get thoughts and see if anybody does it?

davy4575
August 10th, 2010, 10:38 PM
I see some people listening to music when they ride or race. My sister does, says it puts her into her zone. Me personally, I cant. I like to hear my bikes motor and what its doing, as well as if someones approaching me (which is unfortunately all to frequently) Im a musician though, so if I start listening to music, I end up concentrating on it to much.

dragos13
August 11th, 2010, 06:02 AM
I have to disagree that listening to music helps keep focus. Now, throwing on the headphones while you are waiting for third call is great, but I would say NO to listening to music on the track.

How is hearing lyrics and tunes going to help you focus on the track and your fellow racers? I used to do this on the street, until I nearly rear-ended a car on Sante Fe. In my personal opinion, HELL NO lol.

+1 for Davy and listening to not only your own motor, but the motor of bikes around you. I will wear ear plugs religously, that just helps dampen the high pitch sounds and allows you to focus and become less fatigued.

vort3xr6
August 11th, 2010, 07:04 AM
That's what I figured. Also, I would lose out on some important sounds. IF somebody is diving up the inside and I can't hear them and turn in on my line hard.

dragos13
August 11th, 2010, 07:16 AM
Exactly. I think it would take away from your awareness which is never good on the race track.

Question, what would you be rocking if you did have headphones on?

rybo
August 11th, 2010, 07:54 AM
Exactly. I think it would take away from your awareness which is never good on the race track.

Anyone who doesn't answer:

Kenny Loggins: Danger Zone