PDA

View Full Version : What spare parts?

jmaher
June 21st, 2010, 01:07 PM
I am just starting and have my bike (05 ZX-6RR). I also have a second set of body work and now rims. What other "spares" would be recommended to have on hand? I want to watch here, CL and ebay to build up what I need.

Thanks!

Joe

dragos13
June 21st, 2010, 01:14 PM
spare/replacement:

Clipons
Frame sliders
rear sets
windscreen
brake/clutch levers
chain/sprocket

phildrummond
June 24th, 2010, 01:30 PM
Let me add a possible one to Casey's list. Swingarm spools maybe? But I'm a newb and always working on gathering spares.

N1K
July 15th, 2010, 04:36 PM
Fairing Stay and factory clutch.

N1K
July 15th, 2010, 04:38 PM
oh shift lever and rod.

racedk6
July 15th, 2010, 04:42 PM
Let me add a possible one to Casey's list. Swingarm spools maybe? But I'm a newb and always working on gathering spares.

I say go with attack lifters so if you go down you dont break the tab off of the swing arm.

jmaher
July 16th, 2010, 12:21 AM
I learned a lot this past weekend from my crash and that of others. Rear sets at the top of the list since I need them now. I am making a better/refined list. I'll post for comment when done.

Thanks!

Joe

spideyrdr
August 16th, 2010, 11:56 AM
I am working on a similar list, so I thought I might jump in here and seek a little input.

Casey, you mentioned spare clipons. Do you mean the whole clipon or just spare bars? I ask because after my crash it seems likely the bar would break before the actual clipon so I ordered a couple of spare bars for my box. Do the clipons themselves often break?

Next question along these lines would be how would you handle a broken bar? I have an extra set of grips now too, so I am curious if you guys just carry some grips and bars plus some glue, and in the event of an "unplanned rider-to-ground meeting" would you just swap in a new bar and glue it / safety wire it? The glue seems like it might take a while to set? What if it's the throttle side?