PDA

View Full Version : Help Wanted - Paid Mentorship

shRED
March 1st, 2015, 10:22 AM
Looking to build a long-term pay mentorship with a retired racer / capable bike mechanic (can be self-taught) person who would like to get paid to teach and train me in the following areas (motorcycles only):

1. Electric Diagnostic including continuity tests, isolating bad wires, etc.
2. Valve Adjustments
3. Fork and Shock deconstruction and reassembly and setting fluid levels for racing.
4. Carb tuning
5. Bike setup (rebound and compression adjustment), learning feedback and translation into track adjustments. This would be for racing, SUMO, Dirt, and Road.
6. Engine work (not required but a bonus) including Cam replacement, Stator / Magneto replacement, etc.
7. Any of the other great racing setup tricks - 0 friction custom spacers, etc.
8. Addressing bike geometry issues / excessive tire wear / chatter, etc.

Looking for a semi-retired / retired person who has free time and who would enjoy working with a serious student with whom they could see immediate and substantial progress while passing on what they've learned in a life of motorcycling.

GOAL
The goal would be that you guide me through the actual work, not do it yourself and teach me the key principles along the way. I want to learn how to optimize each bike's capabilities, not just get by with maintenance.

BIKES
The main work will be on race bikes, which are SV650's. Other bikes in the shop that can be used to learn on: CR500R, CRF250R (Dedicated SUMO), CB350 (twin), HD FLTR, XR250, etc.

TIME COMMITMENT
The time commitment would be one Weds, Saturday or Sunday a month, four to six hours, at my shop in North Denver. I will work around your schedule.

PAY
Pay would be $25 an hour cash, unlimited free beer (your brand of choice) and my eternal gratitude. Would hope for help on one track day a year with setup. For anyone who dares I promise we will have fun and if needed based on performance I can increase the pay.