PDA

View Full Version : Health Insurance, Major Medical???? Covers racing accidents?

Holymun
April 25th, 2014, 09:59 PM
I'm looking into getting health insurance, or some sort of major medical, now that I am starting to race. I spoke with an insurance broker, and I was told there is no insurance available that covers an on track racing accident. Or if I had regular health ins. or major medical, and got hurt racing, I would not be covered, because I am choosing to put myself at risk. Anyone have any experience or knowledge in this area? Everyone says to get health insurance if you're racing, which is a no brainer, but if it doesn't cover racing accidents, what's the point! And who all is going to call there insurance company to find out they are not covered in a racing accident? There's gotta be something out there????

JimWilson29
April 25th, 2014, 11:16 PM
http://ridersurance.com/Insurance-Plans

nobasin
April 26th, 2014, 07:41 AM
I am no expert on this, but i have researched fairly extensively recently having had to change health insurance providers. I believe your broker is wrong as part of new regulations in colorado and as part of the ACA, insurance companies cannot deny coverage for 'risky activities' any more as part of the 'medical underwriting' process. this typically included any type of motorsports racing, scuba, sky diving and even rock climbing. The ACA eliminated medical underwriting, which was where you had to put the last 40000 years of your medical history and if you had acne as a teen, you could get denied coverage because of a 'pre-existing' condition. However, regarding motorsports racing, the catch is that it must be uncompensated amateur racing. If you are getting paid in any way (and that does not include contingency or sponsorship) you won't be covered. They may still ask on the application if you engage in these activities, and your premiums may reflect that in the form of higher rates, but they cannot deny a claim if you are injured durin