PDA

View Full Version : How to produce videos with track map, speed, lap timer, etc

spideyrdr
July 2nd, 2013, 02:32 PM
For those asking how I did the videos I posted from this past round, I can point you to the tools but can't teach you to use fully them yet - I am still learning, so any lessons I have to give could end up being 'wrong' down the line. But in the spirit of passing along what I know, I present...

What you need to make your own "enhanced" videos

Hardware:
1) GoPro or other camera to get footage (duh)

2) One of the following:
A) Smartphone that has GPS - either an old on that you can dedicate to this or your daily phone if you wouldn't be bent out of shape about if you lost it or broke it. Most smartphones can only log at 1Hz (1 sample per second), which might be acceptable but at race speeds, you might see some significant timing issues.An iPhone MIGHT work, but I don't own anything made by Apple.

B) A standalone GPS datalogger running at 5Hz or 10Hz

C) A standalone GPS receiver that can run at 5Hz or 10Hz or higher that also has bluetooth and can be paired with a smartphone to act as the datalogger. THIS IS WHAT I USED TO MAKE MY VIDEOS. I have a Qstarz 5Hz GPS receiver and it connects to my old Samsung Galaxy S phone over bluetooth for logging the data. I have read 5Hz is about as high as you can go with this sort of setup before the phone can no longer accurately log the data, but I am not sure if that's true or not.

3) A computer that's got decent horsepower. I use a PC running Windows 7 - a Mac might work since there is a Mac version of the RaceRender software, but again, I have no Apple products.

Software: