PDA

View Full Version : Will a fat guy be competitive on the 250?

James87
May 12th, 2012, 12:18 PM
Hello all,

I'm new here and will thank you in advance for giving me some honest input.
I am looking to to race in the 250 cup class in another season or two. I haven't purchased a bike yet, but plan on starting with either the Ninja 250R or the CBR250R, Have not decided yet.

a little about me, I have zero race experience, and very limited "on-road" experience. I wanted to start on the smaller displacement bikes so I could focus more on technique. And the 250's are more cost effective.

So my question is, At 6' and 205Lbs would I be competitive in this class or would I just embarrass myself?

Thank you kindly.

hcr25
May 12th, 2012, 12:25 PM
If all other things are equal no you will not be competitive. By this i mean if there is no difference in rider skill, bike horsepower, tires, suspension ect. Usually this is not the case but extra weight, bike or rider is usually a disadvantage.
mike

lars
May 12th, 2012, 12:53 PM
I think you have the right idea to start in the 250 class. I started out in the superstreet program and after graduating to a novice license I chose the 250 class because it is a cheaper platform to purchase and race. It also forces you to work on techniques at a more moderate pace that might feel rushed at the pace on board a 600cc+ bike.
Yes weight will be a disadvantage but as a starting place you should still enjoy it a LOT!
-2cents

AdamandNoahsdad
May 12th, 2012, 12:58 PM
If you are a new rider, skill will be the limiting factor. Not weight. There is another thread on here somewhere about whether Hammer ( a fast guy) would still be fast if he were a lard ass. If you want to see the large size on a little bike thing taken to the extreme, Rocky Mountain Mini Moto is racing at Bandimere tomorrow (Sunday). My advice, hurry up and buy a bike and get racing now!

James87
May 12th, 2012, 01:19 PM